Kreisā mala
Labā mala
Department "Motion. Image. Sound"

The Department "Motion. Image. Sound" on the web:, Facebook  

Students at the Department “Motion. Image. Sound” acquire animation directing, various animation techniques, classical and digital principles of animation. Diverse usage of time based media is explored in both – linear and poetic visual storytelling.

The students studying at the Department specialize in creating communicative images, interaction of a text and image, and the technology used (digital and analog) is varied according to a study assignment in each semester – text illustration, representation of personal observations through visual storytelling, combination of an moving image, a sound, spatial structures and two-dimensional image, based on in-depth study of a material or situation. The students are encouraged to explore their personal and original expression beyond the borders of academic drawing.

During the studies diverse technologies are explored which help to complete semester tasks; equipped photo studio, modern computer room with Wacom technologies and silk-screen workshop are provided.

The graduates will have the skills needed to create communication based art, original animation films and their scripts; they will elaborate their individual style to illustrate their own ideas as well as ideas generated by others. The graduates will be able to work in an industry – creating commercials, illustrating books, magazines, newspaper articles, integrating an image in communicative design, preparing images and layouts for typography.

The core courses at the Department „Motion. Image. Sound”:

1. Animation.
2. Moving Digital Image. 
3. Acting.
4. Text and Image.
5. Design Graphics.
6. Work in a Material.
7. Photo.
8. Video Production Basics.
9. Audio.
10. Drawing.
11. Painting.
12. Modeling.
13. Composition.

Head of the Department of Visual Communication:
Professor Ojārs Pētersons

Useful information:
- Academic staff
- Videos
- Courses

Academic staff:
- Maija Kurševa;
- Edmunds Jansons;
- Armands Zelčs;
- Vents Āboltiņš;
- Dzintars Krūmiņš;
- Inga Prauliņa;
- Eduards Čipots;
- Mārtiņš Lablaiks;
- Dainis Juraga.